Mr. R. L. Borden, leader of the Opposition, called upon to form an Administration, accomplished this task on October 10, The Borden and the new Ministry was constituted as follows: R. L. Borden, <sup>Cabinet</sup> premier and president of the Privy Council; George E. Foster, <sup>of</sup> 1911. Trade and Commerce; Robert Rogers, Interior; F. D. Monk, Public Works; Francis Cochrane, Railways and Canals; William T. White, Finance; Louis P. Pelletier, Postmaster General; John D. Hazen, Marine and Fisheries and Naval Service; Charles J. Doherty, Justice; Samuel Hughes, Militia and Defence; William J. Roche, Secretary of State; Thomas W. Crothers, Labour; Wilfrid B. Nantel, Inland Revenue and Mines; John D. Reid, Customs; Martin Burrell, Agriculture; George H. Perley, Albert E. Kemp and James A. Lougheed, members without portfolios.

The twelfth Parliament of the Dominion of Canada was opened on November 15 by H. R. H. the Governor General in person. Opening of The address in reply to the speech from the throne was voted the twelfth Parliament of on November 29, and on December 7 Parliament adjourned over Canada. the Christmas recess until January 10 1912.

On October 23 the Hon. Auguste Landry was appointed to be Speaker of the Senate, and on November 15 Dr. T. S. Sproule Appointment was elected Speaker of the House of Commons.

Under the terms of Resolution 1 of the Colonial Conference of 1907 the Imperial Conference, now held quadrennially, fell Imperial due to take place in 1911. It was accordingly held in London Conference, London 1911. from May 20 to June 20, just before His Majesty's coronation. The following representatives of the United Kingdom and of the five self-governing Dominions beyond the seas took part in the proceedings as members of the conference : United Kingdom: The Right Hon. H. H. Asquith, K.C., M.P., Prime Minister, president, and the Right Hon. L. Harcourt, M.P., Secretary of State for the Colonies; Dominion of Canada: The Right Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, G.C.M.G., Prime Minister, the Hon. Sir F. W. Borden, K.C.M.G., Minister of Militia and Defence, and the Hon. L. P. Brodeur, Minister of Marine and Fisheries; Commonwealth of Australia : The Hon. A. Fisher, Prime Minister, the Hon. E. L. Batchelor, Minister of External Affairs, and the Hon. G. F. Pearce, Minister of Defence; Dominion of New Zealand : The Right Hon. Sir Joseph G. Ward, K.C.M.G., Prime Minister, and the Hon. J. G. Findlay, K.C., LL.D., Attorney General and Colonial Secretary; Union of SouthAfrica: General the Right Hon. L. Botha, Prime Minister, the Hon. Sir David de Villiers Graaff, Bart., Minister of Public Works, Posts and Telegraphs, and the Hon. F. S. Malan, Minister of Education; Newfoundland: The Hon. Sir E. P. Morris, Prime Minister, and the Hon. R. Watson, Colonial Secretary.